Red Sands

Layout done: 28 January 2020

Photographs taken: 11 August 2019

Location: Red Sands Country Lodge, Kuruman, South Africa

Photographers: Hettie Krüger and Magriet van Zyl

The moodboard for Challenge #86 by 13 Arts has a rustic feel, with greens and browns – a bit of romance with the hands and a bird.

I also used this layout to solve CSI (Color – Stories – Inspiration)’s Case File 309, especially with the bird in a cage chippie.


I used a page from the Old Manor collection by Mintay Papers for this layout. I also used bricks and rust pages from the Dear Diary collection. The photographs were taken at a local game farm / restaurant, https://www.redsands.co.za/. The photograph on the left is of my father with one of the giraffe statues and the one on the right is of my husband, Phillip, and I with a Gemsbuck statue.

I used the bird from the moodboard in a green chipboard bird in a cage.

I tore corrugated orange paper and tore the rust paper too. I cut some bricks out.

I used distress ink to color the gauze I put behind the bricks. The curly chipboard pieces reminds me of the plants in the moodboard.

I finished the layout with diamantés and crystal drops.

Leave a comment